ArtsArts EventsMusicMusic News

Agarita Returns to the San Antonio Museum of Art June 20


Agarita returns to the San Antonio Museum of Art for a free concert on June 20. During this free immersive musical experience that highlights the aesthetics of four unique galleries, visitors will choose their own path, guided by sounds Baroque, Modern and Contemporary throughout the museum and culminating in special performances in the museum’s Contemporary and Latin American galleries.

This program consists of a set of carefully curated pairings that awaken the spirit of the galleries and give musical context to highlighted artworks.

In the ornate Viceregal Latin American Gallery featuring Spanish colonialism, visitors will experience the Baroque sounds of Carlos Seixas, Domenico Scarlatti (who worked under the Spanish royal court), and other early 18th-century masters. A harpsichord for the event will be provided by local harpsichord builder Gerald Self.

In the Contemporary Gallery, Rising Blue for violin and electronics by American composer John Howell Morrison, Musica Celestis by Aaron Jay Kernis for String Quartet, and John Adams’ epic minimalist work Road Movies will evoke the scope, shapes, and colors of Modernists like Dorothy Hood. Rufino Tamayo’s featured work Homenaje a Bach is the primary musical inspiration for the Modern and Contemporary Latin American Gallery, in which visitors will hear a Cello Suite by J.S. Bach, Omaramor by Osvaldo Golijov, and String Quartet movements of Carlos Chavez and Heitor Villa-Lobos.

Finally, works for solo viola and loop pedal, along with Latin American duos for violin and viola, will permeate the Latin American Popular Art Gallery. This is no ordinary concert format: after being given a starting place to begin their adventure, listeners are free to wander and experience whichever musical journey they choose. The performances are like art on the wall, there to be enjoyed at the listener’s pace and discretion.

Throughout the continuous performances, works will be repeated to allow attendees to enjoy a comprehensive listening experience.

At approximately 6:30 p.m., Agarita will convene in SAMA’s Great Hall for a final performance of two movements from Villa-Lobos’ String Quartet No. 1.

 *   Jessica Meyer, Source of Joy ( viola and looper)
 *   Carlos Chavez, String Quartet no. 3, 2nd movement, Lento (string quartet)
 *   Heitor Villa-Lobos, String Quartet no. 1, movements 2, 5, 6 (string quartet)
 *   Kernis, String Quartet “music celestis,” 2nd movement, Adagio (string quartet)
 *   Bach, Gamba Sonata No. 1 in G major, 3rd movement (viola and harpsichord)
 *   Bach, Gamba Sonata No. 3 in g minor, 1st movement (viola and harpsichord)
 *   Gardel: por una cabeza (for violin and viola)
 *   Ginastera: Milonga (arranged for violin and viola)
 *   John Howell Morrison, Rising Blue (solo violin)
 *   John Adams, Road Movies (violin/piano)
 *   Bach, Solo Cello Suite No. 3 (solo cello)
 *   Golijov, Omaramor (solo cello)
 *   Domenico Scarlatti and Carlos Seixas, Sonatas (solo harpsichord)

The free event takes place on Tuesday, June 20, from 4:00 6:30 p.m. at the San Antonio Museum of Art, Great Hall, 200 W. Jones Ave.

Feature photo (l-r): Agarita members Ignacio Gallego, Sarah Silver Manzke, Marisa Bushman and Daniel Anastasio.